The Skeleton Road by Val McDermid

Val McDermid returns with another gritty police procedural that will keep you reading late into the night!

In The Skeleton Road, cold case detective DCI Karen Pirie is called in when skeletal remains are found in the high pinnacle of an abandoned Victorian Gothic building. Forensics ultimately identifies the remains as Mitja Petrovic, a former general of the Croatian Army. Not only must Pirie solve the mystery of his death, but now there is a mystery of international significance: Petrovic was believed to have been responsible for murders of 11 Serbian war criminals…except he’s been dead for 8 years!

While you are waiting for your copy of The Skeleton Road to come in, why not try these suspense-filled mysteries, with complex plots and strong characters.

readlaikes

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Girl on the trainTouted as the next Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train by British debut author Paula Hawkins is the new runaway bestseller that everyone wants to get their hands on – our library holds are up to 48 now, seemingly out of nowhere!

The plot: After witnessing something shocking, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

While you’re waiting for your copy with bated breath, why not try one of these psychological suspense nail biters?

Harrison, A.S.A., The Silent Wife. 2013.

Flynn, Gillian. Gone Girl. 2012.

Watson. S.J. Before I go to sleep. 2011.

French, Tana. The Secret Place. 2014.

Hannah, Sophie. The Other Woman’s House. 2012.

Silent wife Gone girl Before I go to sleep Secret place Other woman's house

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Jacket

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr has been on our “Most Popular Books” list since it was released in June of this year.  A “stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.”

If you’ve already read and enjoyed, or are still waiting to get your hands on a copy, you might like to try some of the following read-alike suggestions:


Ondaatje, Michael.  The English Patient.  1992.

Heig, Ursula.  Stones from the River. 1994.

Marra, Anthony.  Constellation of Vital Phenomena. 2013.

Moyes, JoJo.  Me Before You. 2012.

Orringer, Julie.  Invisible Bridge.  2010.

Hillenbrand, Laura.  Unbroken: A World War Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption.  2010.

all