St. Albert Gazette Great Reading

Book picks as published in the March 14, 2018 St. Albert Gazette. For more great reads, check here.

I am I am I amI am, I am, I am : seventeen brushes with death

By Maggie O’Farrell

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death. Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. An extraordinary memoir from one of Northern Ireland’s bestselling novelists, for fans of Wild and When Breath Becomes Air.

 

 

American war (cover only)American war : a novel

By Omar El Akkad

A second American Civil War, a devastating plague, and one family caught deep in the middle–a story that asks what might happen if America were to turn its most devastating policies and deadly weapons upon itself. An audacious and powerful debut novel that is shortlisted for Canada Reads 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s